Open Spaces Commission

The Open Spaces Commission was established by a City Council ordinance in 2003 to serve as an advisory body on the acquisition, management, use, restoration, enhancement, protection, and conservation of open space within the City of Flagstaff. The Commission consists of seven voting members -- 6 Council-appointed members and a representative from the Planning and Zoning Commission.  Learn more about the authority and responsibilities of the Open Spaces Commission here

In 2015, the Open Spaces Commission adopted their Strategic Plan, which describes conservation criteria for potential open space designation and prioritizes areas for conservation and public access. Ultimately, the plan outlines the Commission's vision for a connected system of open space in the Flagstaff community.

Contact the Open Spaces Commission
If you have any questions about the Open Spaces Commission or the Open Space Program in general, please contact Robert Wallace, the City's Open Spaces Staff Liaison, at or 928-213-2154.

Agendas            Minutes          Authority         Meeting Videos  


Meetings are open to the public and held on the fourth Monday of every month at 4:00 pm in Council Chambers on the first floor of City Hall. View the Arizona Attorney General's Office Agency Handbook regarding Open Meeting Law.


Current Flagstaff Open Spaces Commission members are:
  • Wm. Michael Wilson, Chair
  • Andy Bessler, Vice-Chair
  • Jim Burton
  • Mark Loseth
  • Eric Nolan, Planning and Zoning Commission Liaison
  • Joseph Thomas
  • Jack Welch

Commissioner Requirements

Interested in serving on the Open Spaces Commission? Check out the City's Boards and Commission webpage to see if there are any upcoming vacancies and complete an application

Please note that all City commission members must live within City limits at the time of their appointment and for the full duration of their term in office. Appointments are approved at public meetings and individuals are selected solely at the discretion of the City Council. Commissioners are generally appointed to three-year terms, unless they are appointed to fulfill the remainder of a term.