Building & Safety

Welcome to the Building Safety Program

Coming Soon-2018 Building Code adoption, anticipated start date October 2018  

101 West Cherry Avenue                                                       Hours: Monday thru Friday 7:00am-4:00pm

The Building Safety Program provides assistance to residents and developers in all areas of building construction. We provide technical code assistance and review of all building, plumbing, electrical, mechanical, fuel gas, energy and accessibility requirements for construction projects city wide.

Building Official, Amy Palmer, apalmer@flagstaffaz.gov
Phone: 928-213-2604
Fax: 928-226-0985

Plan Review:      

Douglas Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov

Patrick St. Clair, 928-213-2646, pstclair@flagstaffaz.gov 

Victoria St. Clair, 928-213-2626, vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Inspection:                                                    

Nicholas Blain, 928-213-2624, nblain@flagstaffaz.gov 

Dave Clark, 928-213-2629, dclark@flagstaffaz.gov 

Ronny Corey, 928-213-2622, Ronny.Corey@flagstaffaz.gov

Lloyd Drinkard, 928-213-2625, Lloyd.Drinkard@flagstaffaz.gov

Richard Fritz, 928-213-2623, rfritz@flagstaffaz.gov

Joshua Neihardt, 928-213-2621, jneihardt@flagstaffaz.gov

Mark Perkins, 928-213-2627, mperkins@flagstaffaz.gov          

Bob Sorenson, 928-213-2625, rsorenson@flagstaffaz.gov 

Record Request:

To request copies of Building Permits for a property, Susan Alden 928-213-2066 or salden@flagstaffaz.gov. Copies of building permits are available upon request at a cost of .50 cents per page.

To request copies of current building permits, certificate of occupancy, zoning or planning questions, or to inquire if a property has applied for a permit, contact Tammy Bishop, 928-213-2611, tbishop@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Inspection, Complaints or Building without a Permit:
Rick Stanionis, rstanionis@flagstaffaz.gov                                Building Inspection Manager                                                     Phone:  928-213-2628

Inspection Request Line:
Dial 928-779-7631 and follow the prompts. Monday - Friday until 3:00pm to schedule inspections for the following day. Inspections called in by 3:00pm on Friday will be scheduled for the following Monday. Only emergency inspections are performed on observed Holidays.

Plan Reviewer of the Day:                                                      Monday - 7:00am-4:00pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov

Tuesday - 7:00am-4:00pm Victoria St. Clair, 928-213-2626,  vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Wednesday - 7:00am-12:30pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov 12:30pm-4:00pm Victoria St. Clair 928-213-2626, vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Thursday - 7:00am-12:30pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov 12:30pm-4:00pm Patrick St. Clair, 928-213-2646, pstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Friday - 7:00am-4:00pm Patrick St. Clair, 928-213-2646, pstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Codes:
The Flagstaff City Council has adopted the following building codes with amendments:
2012 International Building Code
2012 International Plumbing Code
2012 International Fuel Gas Code
2012 International Existing Building Code
2011 National Electrical Code
1997 Uniform Code for the Abatement of Dangerous Buildings


2012 International Residential Code
2012 International Mechanical Code
2009 International Energy Conservation Code
1997 Uniform Administrative Code
1997 Uniform House Code
2009 ICC A117-1 Accessible & Usable Buildings