Building Safety

Welcome to the Building Safety Program 

211 West Aspen Avenue   Phone: 928-213-2627   Hours: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 4:00pm                          

IMPORTANT NEWS

On June 18, 2019, Flagstaff City Council passed Resolution 2019-26 and Ordinance 2019-16 effectively amending Title 4 of the Flagstaff City Code - Building Regulations and adopting the following list of model building codes (referred to as the “2018 Suite of Codes”) along with amendments specific to the City of Flagstaff. These building codes, as amended, become effective on July 19, 2019. 

The Building Safety Program is offering a grace period through December 31, 2019, where submittals may be designed to either the 2012 or 2018 Suite of codes. Submittals must indicate on the construction plans under which codes the submittal is designed. Submittals designed to the 2018 Suite of Codes will not be accepted prior to July 19, 2019. 

On January 1, 2020 all submittals are required to be designed to the 2018 Suite of Codes as amended by the City of Flagstaff. 

Adopted Building Codes and Amendments

2012 Suite of Codes                                                            2018 Suite of Codes

2013 Adopted Building Codes                                                         2019 Adopted Building Codes

2013 Amendments to the Adopted Codes                                       2019 Amendments to the Adopted Codes

2013 Building Design Criteria                                                          2019 Building Design Criteria

Click HERE to view the model codes on the International Code Council website

Permit Center

Effective January 1st, 2019 new single-family dwellings, multi-family dwellings and commercial projects will also be required to submit a digital set of plans and supporting documents (i.e. thumb drive, cd, dvd, dropbox).

Building Official, Amy Palmer, apalmer@flagstaffaz.gov
Phone: 928-213-2604

Building Permit Technician, Eilise Fisher, Eilise.Fisher@flagstaffaz.gov
Phone: 928-213-2627     Fax: 928-226-0985

Plan Review:                                                                              Douglas Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov

Elias Slover, 928-213-2646, Elias.Slover@flagstaffaz.gov

Victoria St. Clair, 928-213-2626, vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Inspection:                                                    

Nicholas Blain, 928-213-2624, nblain@flagstaffaz.gov 

Dave Clark, 928-213-2629, dclark@flagstaffaz.gov 

Ronny Corey, 928-213-2622, Ronny.Corey@flagstaffaz.gov

Lloyd Drinkard, 928-213-2625, Lloyd.Drinkard@flagstaffaz.gov

Richard Fritz, 928-213-2623, rfritz@flagstaffaz.gov

Joshua Neihardt, 928-213-2621, jneihardt@flagstaffaz.gov

Mark Perkins, 928-213-2627, mperkins@flagstaffaz.gov          

Record Request:

To request copies of Building Permits for a property, visit the Public Records page.

To request copies of current building permits, certificate of occupancy, zoning or planning questions, or to inquire if a property has applied for a permit, contact Tammy Bishop, Administrative Specialist, 928-213-2611, tbishop@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Inspection, Complaints or Building without a Permit:
Rick Stanionis, rstanionis@flagstaffaz.gov                                Building Inspection Manager                                                     Phone:  928-213-2628

Inspection Request Line:
Dial 928-779-7631 and follow the prompts. Monday - Friday until 3:00pm to schedule inspections for the following day. Inspections called in by 3:00pm on Friday will be scheduled for the following Monday. Only emergency inspections are performed on observed Holidays.

Plan Reviewer of the Day:                                          

Monday - 7:00am-4:00pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov

Tuesday - 7:00am-4:00pm Victoria St. Clair, 928-213-2626,  vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Wednesday - 7:00am-12:30pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov 12:30pm-4:00pm Victoria St. Clair 928-213-2626, vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Thursday - 7:00am-12:30pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov , 12:30pm-4:00pm, Elias Slover, 928-213-2646, Elias.Slover@flagstaffaz.gov

Friday - 7:00pm-4:00pm Elias Slover, 928-213-2646, Elias.Slover@flagstaffaz.gov