Building Safety

Welcome to the Building Safety Program 

211 West Aspen Avenue   Phone: 928-213-2627   Service Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm

Important News from your City of Flagstaff Building Safety Program, Please Read!

Building Safety Inspectors are still actively conducting building inspections!

Even though we are working remotely, the process remains the same for scheduling your inspections. While we are under the Emergency Declaration, some inspection types may be impacted.

Some general rules our Building Inspectors are following:

  1. Building Inspectors will not conduct an inspection if it requires them to walk through an occupied space, someone’s home or business. These inspections will need to be delayed, at least until April 2nd.
    1. This includes over the counter type of permits such as water heater replacements or furnace replacements, etc.
  2. All outdoor, open air inspections may be completed.
    1. This applies to all new construction and interior spaces that have not yet been occupied.

Please remember the importance of social distancing and please remember this while your inspection is being conducted. Thank you in advance for helping each of us stay safe and healthy.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to email Amy Palmer, Building Official at apalmer@flagstaffaz.gov or Rick Stanionis, Building Inspection Manager at rstanionis@flagstaffaz.gov

Electronic Permitting

Effective 3/18/2020, as a result of the City Hall closure in response to the COVID-19 Virus, all new residential and commercial building permit applications and construction documents (drawings and supplemental information) for plan review are to be submitted electronically. Resubmittals, revisions to approved plans, and deferred submittals are to be submitted electronically. 

Approved construction documents will be issued electronically. For projects that have paper copies of approved plans that are ready to issue, you will be contacted by staff to schedule an appointment for pick-up.

Read the Electronic Permitting process HERE.

NEW! Join the Building Safety News and Updates email contact list!

Send an email with contact email to: CDBldgSafetyUpdates@flagstaffaz.gov

Adopted Building Codes and Amendments

2018 Suite of Codes

2019 Adopted Building Codes

2019 Amendments to the Adopted Codes

2019 Building Design Criteria

Click HERE to view the model codes on the International Code Council website

Permit Center

Effective March 18, 2020 all permitting is handled electronically.

Read the Electronic Permitting Process HERE.

Building Official: Amy Palmer, 928-213-2604, apalmer@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Permit Technician: Eilise Fisher, 928-213-2627, Eilise.Fisher@flagstaffaz.gov

Plan Review:                                                                             

View the Plan Reviewer of the Day Schedule

Douglas Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov

Elias Slover, 928-213-2646, Elias.Slover@flagstaffaz.gov

Victoria St. Clair, 928-213-2626, vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Records Request:

To request copies of Building Permits for a property, visit the Public Records page.

To request copies of current building permits, certificate of occupancy, zoning or planning questions, or to inquire if a property has applied for a permit, contact Tammy Bishop, Administrative Specialist, 928-213-2611, tbishop@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Inspection Manager: Rick Stanionis, 928-213-2628, rstanionis@flagstaffaz.gov                              

Inspection Request Line:
Dial 928-779-7631 and follow the prompts. Monday - Friday until 3:00pm to schedule inspections for the following day. Inspections called in by 3:00pm on Friday will be scheduled for the following Monday. Only emergency inspections are performed on observed Holidays.

Building Inspection:                                                    

Nicholas Blain, 928-213-2624, nblain@flagstaffaz.gov 

Dave Clark, 928-213-2629, dclark@flagstaffaz.gov

John Cleere, 928-213-2621, John.Cleere@flagstaffaz.gov 

Ronny Corey, 928-213-2622, Ronny.Corey@flagstaffaz.gov

Lloyd Drinkard, 928-213-2625, Lloyd.Drinkard@flagstaffaz.gov

Richard Fritz, 928-213-2623, rfritz@flagstaffaz.gov

Mark Perkins, 928-213-2627, mperkins@flagstaffaz.gov