Sustainability Commission

General Overview

  • The Sustainability Commission consists of seven Council-appointed citizens. The commission serves in an advisory and working capacity to recommend and coordinate activities in concert with the Flagstaff Sustainability Program. View the ordinance that established the Commission (PDF).
  • The Sustainability Commission meets on the fourth Thursday of each month, at 4:30 pm
  • Among the Commission's directives are the promotion of sustainable practices in all spheres of life and educating Flagstaff citizens. The City of Flagstaff wishes to thank the members of the Commission for their dedication.

Online Meetings

The Sustainability Commission is currently meeting online, as all in-person Commission meetings have been suspended due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Commission is meeting via Microsoft Teams.

  • Commission Meetings take place the fourth Thursday of the month, from 4:30 to 6:30 pm
  • Members of the public can join the Commission meeting via Microsoft Teams at 4:30 pm on the date of the meeting. This link will remain the same for all Sustainability Commission meetings. 

Current Commission Members

  • David R. McCain, Chair
  • Kevin White, Vice Chair
  • Margaret Steiger
  • John Dailey
  • Kristen Konkel
  • Molly McCormick

Apply to Serve on the Sustainability Commission

Commissioner Requirements

All City commission members must live within City limits at the time of their appointment and for the full duration of their term in office. Appointments are approved at public meetings and individuals are selected solely at the discretion of the City Council. The members of the City's boards and commissions are appointed by the City Council to three-year terms.

If you are interested in applying to become a Sustainability commissioner, visit this website to access the application.

Meetings, Agendas & Minutes


Sustainability Commission meetings are held on the fourth Thursday of every month at 4:30 pm in Council Chambers on the first floor of Flagstaff City Hall. View the Arizona Attorney General's Office Agency Handbook regarding Open Meeting Law.

  • Email us to sign up for meeting and agenda announcements

Presenting to or Contacting the Commission

Official Comments

Previous Meetings

Click the button on the top right of the video player to show the other videos in the playlist.